Dr. Joëlle Prunet attended the Ecole Normale Supérieure (Paris) as an undergraduate and worked under the supervision or Professor Marc Julia during her Master, then obtained her Ph.D. from Harvard University with Professor David A. Evans in 1993. Afterwards she joined the CNRS as Chargée de Recherche at the Ecole Polytechnique. In 2002 she was awarded the Bronze Medal from the CNRS, and the following year she was promoted to Directrice de Recherche and obtained a teaching position at the Ecole Polytechnique. In 2009, she was appointed to the University of Glasgow where she is currently Head of Organic Teaching. Her research interests include the total synthesis of bioactive natural products and the development of new methodologies in organic chemistry.







Ecole Normale Supérieure.
Master of Chemistry.
Research in the laboratory of Professor Marc Julia at Ecole Normale Supérieure:
synthesis of the spiroketal portion of antihelmintic Avermectin.


Ph.D., Harvard University, with Professor David A. Evans.
Studies directed towards the synthesis of polyacetate-derived natural products.
1999: Habilitation à Diriger les Recherches, Université Paris X1 (Orsay).




CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) Chargée de Recherche,
Ecole Polytechnique, Laboratory of Organic Synthesis (DCSO).
2003-2009: Promoted as Directrice de Recherche, CNRS.
2009-Present: Senior Lecturer, University of Glasgow.

Synthesis of biologically active natural products such as Taxol, Dolabelide, and Hexacyclinic Acid. Study of the ring-closing olefin metathesis. New methodologies for the synthesis of chiral 1,3-diols. Post-polymerisation functionalisation by olefin metathesis.



2003-2013:         Professeur Chargée de Cours, Ecole Polytechnique.

2010-Present:     Head of Organic Teaching, University of Glasgow.



Bronze medallist of the CNRS, 2002.

Member of the Board of the Organic Division of the French Chemical Society (2003-2011).

Member of the Board of the French-Japanese Society of Fine and Medicinal Chemistry.

Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science Fellowship, 2010.